Mary Anne Evans (22 November 1819 - 22 December 1880; alternatively "Mary Ann" or "Marian"), known by her pen name George Eliot, was an English novelist, poet, journalist, translator and one of the leading writers of the Victorian era. 

She is the author of seven novels, including Adam Bede (1859), The Mill on the Floss (1860), Silas Marner (1861), Middlemarch (1871-72), and Daniel Deronda (1876), most of which are set in provincial England and known for their realism and psychological insight.
  • Chelsea, Middlesex, England
  • JoinedAugust 21, 2013


Last Message
GeorgeEliot GeorgeEliot Feb 05, 2018 08:25PM
Hey everyone :) We just published 'ADAM BEDE'. We'd appreciate if all of you could please check it out =]'
View all Conversations

Stories by GeorgeEliot
ADAM BEDE (Completed) by GeorgeEliot
ADAM BEDE (Completed)
Adam Bede, the first novel written by George Eliot (the pen name of Mary Ann Evans), was published in 1859. I...
DANIEL DERONDA (Completed) by GeorgeEliot
Daniel Deronda is a novel by George Eliot, first published in 1876. It was the last novel she completed and t...
MIDDLEMARCH (Completed) by GeorgeEliot
Middlemarch, A Study of Provincial Life is a novel by the English author George Eliot, first published in eig...
ranking #41 in realism See all rankings